Updated: Apr 24, 2021
Florida law requires all couples wishing to get married to apply for a marriage license. I gathered some information for you regarding marriage license requirements.
Take some minutes to read it, give details of your wedding, and let me help you to make your dream come true! 💍👰🤵
How to Apply
The first step in applying for a marriage license is to complete a Marriage License Application. You can do this in one of two ways:
Save time and apply online using our eMarriage Application. Once you complete the online application, you will receive a confirmation notice containing information about completing the application process.
Print the Marriage License Application and bring it to any of our 6 locations to complete the process.
Where to apply
Marriage licenses may be obtained in Orange County Florida at any of the following locations:
Orange County Courthouse: 425 North Orange Ave., Room 350
Apopka branch: 1111 North Rock Springs Rd.
Goldenrod service center: 684 S. Goldenrod Rd. - Pinar Plaza
Ocoee branch: 475 Story Rd.
Winter Park branch: 450 Lakemont Ave.
Marriage License Requirements
Who Can Apply?
Any male or female age 18 or older
Any male or female age 17 with parental or guardian consent. The older party to the marriage cannot be more than 2 years older than the youngest party to the marriage, and a written and signed affidavit must be filed in compliance with F.S. 741.04.
A valid driver's license, state identification card, passport or military identification
Social Security number (applies to U.S. residents only)
Both parties must apply together in person.
If either party has been married previously, he/she must provide the date the last marriage ended.
If the couple has children together born in Florida, they must fill out the Affirmation of Children Born in Florida form.
Couples are required by law to read the Family Law Handbook and sign a statement acknowledging that they have done so before applying for the license. The handbook is available in English and Spanish, and Portuguese .
Waiting Period to be Married
Marriage licenses are issued the same day as requested as long as all requirements are met. However, there is a 3-day waiting period to be married for couples who live in Florida, but do not provide proof that they have completed a premarital preparation course. Please note that the 3-day waiting period does not begin until after the couple comes together to the Clerk’s office and purchases the marriage license in person. Florida couples wishing to avoid the 3-day waiting period must produce a certificate or printed letter from a premarital course provider indicating they have completed the course. A couple claiming hardship can appear at the downtown courthouse location only and petition a judge to waive the 3-day waiting period when applying for the marriage license in person. To locate an approved course provider, search the internet for Florida Premarital Course Providers. A premarital course must be taken within one year prior to applying for a marriage license. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.
Marriage License Fees
The fee to obtain a marriage license is $86.00. The fee can be reduced to $61.00 if they provide proof of completing a premarital preparation course – see instructions above.
Non-U.S. Residents and Residents of Other States
If you would like to get married in Orange County and both parties are not Florida residents, you can go to any of the locations I mentioned above on "Where to apply" to purchase your marriage license and get in touch with me to schedule a day for your wedding solemnization within the next 60 days anywhere in Florida.
If you have any questions, feel free to get in touch with me. It will be my pleasure to help you!